Peter Frampton

Peter Frampton to Receive Les Paul Innovation Award

Grammy Award-winning guitarist, singer, songwriter and innovator Peter Frampton will receive the Les Paul Innovation Award at the 34th Annual NAMM TEC Awards, held Saturday, Jan. 26, 7 p.m.

The award is given on behalf of the Les Paul Foundation to honor individuals that have set the highest standards of excellence in the creative application of recording technology in the spirit of the famed audio pioneer, inventor and musician, Les Paul.

"It is a distinct honor to receive the Les Paul Innovation Award," Frampton said. "I would say that many of my career highlights occurred while holding an instrument in my hands that bears Les Paul's name. I was lucky enough to know him personally, and I owe him so much. He was a wonderful character as well as a genius. An incredible guitar player as well as the inventor of so much music technology. Les changed the way we record forever. I can only hope that I've been able to make a fraction of the positive impact that Les Paul made in his iconic career."

Frampton is one of music's renaissance men, having begun a career in his early teens, and still making his mark today in the areas of recording and touring. A multi-platinum-selling artist, he recently celebrated the 42nd anniversary of his fifth solo album, "Frampton Comes Alive," an album that remains one of the top-selling live records of all time with over 17 million copies sold worldwide. In 2007, he won the Grammy award for Best Pop Instrumental Album for "Fingerprints," and in 2014 was inducted into the Musicians Hall of Fame.

"Peter Frampton remains one of the most skillful and celebrated artists in rock history. He also was a friend of Les Paul's and has played a pivotal role in helping the Foundation keep Les' legacy alive," said Michael Braunstein, executive director of the Les Paul Foundation. "Like Les, he is an undeniable master of his instrument and, in many ways, ahead of his time. We are honored to have Peter join the impressive list of Les Paul Innovation Award recipients."